‘Family History Corner’, “Crikey”!

Greetings my Dear Chums

Welcome to the first edition of ‘Family History Corner’, “Crikey”!!I hear you protesting immediately. “Has the Editor has lost the plot?”, “Indoor activities in a journal dedicated to pursuance of fun and frolic’s in the great outdoors? How can this be”?

Well, my little wilderness wanderers, let me tell you how.

I’m the editor. I’m in charge of everything here at ‘A Gent. Advt. Chronc’. So without my usual sounding board of the Chief Outdoors Correspondent, who is currently in a different hemisphere, I have taken it upon myself to occasionally, just very occasionally, broaden your horizons further with tales of mine and others doings elsewhere.

I sincerely hope, in the spirit of widening your field of exploration, that you will take readily to ‘Family History Corner’. Who knows,it may ignite flames within that lead in surprising directions of discovery, which are both stimulating and amusing.

Let us begin by opening the door to this exciting new world. We will enter together the land of the family historian, the ancestral researcher,the bloodline chaser, and the genealogists, (not gynaecologists, that is something completely different, though not entirely inappropriate in this context, as you will discover by reading on).

You will discover from the outset that these genealogical aims and our outdoors aspirations are strikingly coincidental.

We are all dedicated to our own personal journeys of discovery. A trek into history along the pathways of lineage and the valleys leading to hereditary, is not dissimilar to the aims of those keen outdoors types who follow the trackways, the footpaths, even the occasional sheep trod into unfamiliar landscapes.

Be it a  journey along the ancient Silk Routes or the Barnsley Boundary Walk. Be the expedition high into the paper mountain’s of the Municipal Library, or deep into the old papered valleys of the County Records Office, we are all striving to quench a thirst for whatever is beyond our horizon.

I recently received information that a sibling of a cousin of mine was attempting to take a journey backwards into our family. I was pleased to be able to offer what little assistance I could. A geographical distance between us though makes co-operation a challenge. The medium of electronic communication has become our media of choice.

Kristy is a descended from my mother’s side of the family. She is a most charming and articulate young woman who is currently engaged in patiently awaiting the birth of her first child. (My earlier genealogist/gynaecologist attempts at humour refers).

Excitingly Kristy she lives in South Carolina in the United States of America. She is the daughter of my cousin Richard. His mother met and married a member of the US air-force serving in England during the second world war. They relocated to the other side of the Atlantic Ocean upon cessation of hostilities. Their union has successfully bore a family of delightful American citizens.

We only have the pathway in ancestry to follow which Kristy has so far uncovered. I feel privileged that she has invited me to become a small part of her exploration party. To accompany her into the great unknown sounds thrilling. I will of course keep you updated with any information I feel you will benefit from as our adventure proceeds.

Finally, and by complete coincidence, I have recently finished reading a rather wonderful publication about journeys, physical and otherwise. It is entitled ‘At the Loch of the Green Corrie’, written wonderfully by Andrew Grieg. I heartily endorse this book, and encourage you to seek it out. The story leads the reader in many directions, but one particular encounter along the way is I think apt here.

During the read, the question is asked, ‘who are your people?’. The full answer is beautiful, and far more than my simple little tale of genealogical doings. It is only Andrew’s share.

Kristy has very kindly sent me a photograph of some of my ancestors, which I share with you. I should be able to say ‘These are my people’; But that feels a little like the outdoors enthusiast who spy’s a mountain range for the first time. Yes you’ve seen the mountains, but it is only after walking amongst the peaks, experiencing the summits and valleys in changing weather and light will you be properly enriched and expanded by the experience.

So it is that only when I have come to know about the lives and times of these people will I be able to say, ‘these are my people’.

grandpa lillys family

‘These are my people’

Pip-Pip
Ever Yours,
Echo Sweetly BV
Proprietor and Editor, A Gentleman Adventurer’s Chronicle

Leave a Reply

